About Me.

Hello, I’m Shauna. I’m 18 years old, and am currently studying Contour Fashion at De Montfort University, Leicester. I was born in Leicester, and live in a small town called Lutterworth, which is about 13 miles away.

IMG_0150

I have created this blog, as part of my CONF1100 Complete Contour Fashion Studies; Critical and Contextual Studies. I will use it to document the stages of my learning throughout my CCS project, including sources of my research and several important topics related to fashion (e.g. Origins of a trend, ethical issues, global fashion and gendered fashion across cultures.) I will also use it to reflect on my experiences of contextual studies and on how I think my CCS project has gone.

Before starting university, I studied my A-Levels at Lutterworth College, in which my chosen subjects were Textiles, Business Studies and Psychology.

Fashion has always been a subject which interests me, and specifically lingerie really inspires me, which is why I chose to study Contour Fashion at degree level. Throughout my time at university, I want to extend and deepen my knowledge as much as possible, and gain as much experience within the industry through participating in live projects, to maximise my chances of employment after I graduate. In 5 years’ time, I hope see myself in a full time job as a lingerie designer, and would also like to eventually set up my own lingerie brand in which I would sell my own designs.

Victoria’s Secret and La Perla in particular are both brands which really inspire me. The delicate lace fabrics, and intimate styles put forward by both brands really make them unique and stand out. Lace is one of my favourite fabrics, and I think this may be why I am interested in these brands especially.

One of my favourite lingerie designers is Damaris Evans. She also includes a lot of delicate fabrics in her designs, such as lace, and the styles of her products are quite unusual and decorative. This really inspires me to design products which differ from the standard lingerie available on the high-street, so that my products stand out, but are also seen as aesthetically pleasing whilst still meeting the requirements of the market and being practical for regular wear.

About Me.

Leave a Reply

