The Journey of my Jeans

In this blog post I’m going to attempt to find out where my jeans actually came from, before I found them hanging in my local Topshop.

These jeans were purchased from Topshop and are called ‘MOTO Sulphur Ripped Joni Jeans’ which cost me around £38.

IMG_1511.PNG[1]

I started off by looking at the care label inside them, which told me the jeans were made in Turkey and are made from 71% Cotton, 26% Polyester and 3% Elastane.

IMG_1526.JPG[2]

Therefore, as Cotton has the most fibre content in my jeans, I will start off by looking at where the Cotton originally comes from, as well as how it is produced.

After researching into Cotton production, I found that the leading Cotton-growing countries include China, India, Brazil, Pakistan and Turkey.[3]

As Cotton is popularly grown in Turkey, as well as my jeans being made there, this could potentially mean that maybe most of the both the production and manufacture processes for my jeans occurred in Turkey; perhaps to save shipping and transportation costs.

This is backed up by a statement on the Arcadia Group website; the group which Topshop is owned by. They stated ‘We are all familiar with the concept of food miles; the distance ingredients have travelled from farmer to fork. Now we are extending this concept to clothes miles, removing unnecessary shipping of goods between source and point of sale.'[4]

Therefore by both sourcing the materials and manufacturing the products in the same country; Turkey in this instance. Then the shipping is being reduced, therefore reducing the costs to both the company, and the environment in terms of pollution. The materials and the manufacturing process occurs in the same country, which then just leaves the transportation to the UK for them to appear in my local Topshop. This makes it even more likely that the Cotton used for my jeans was grown in Turkey, as well as the jeans being made in Turkey.

Bibliography:

[1] – Topshop (2015) MOTO Sulphur Ripped Joni Jeans. Available at: http://www.topshop.com/en/tsuk/product/clothing-427/jeans-446/joni-super-high-waisted-jeans-1108/moto-sulphur-ripped-joni-jeans-4590607?bi=20&ps=20 (Accessed: 27 November 2015).

[2] – Label inside waistband of the jeans – image taken by myself.

[3] – Cotton Counts (no date) The Story of Cotton- where Cotton grows. Available at: https://www.cotton.org/pubs/cottoncounts/story/where.cfm (Accessed: 27 November 2015).

[4] – Arcadia Group (2015) Transport & Logistics / Arcadia Group. Available at: https://www.arcadiagroup.co.uk/fashionfootprint/our-environment/transport (Accessed: 27 November 2015).

The Journey of my Jeans

Leave a Reply

